CPS Tired

17 Jan

Image

Man, I want to say something witty, but I barely have the energy to post a few links and call it a night.  I am past tired.  I am what I call CPS tired. 

The History of School Closings in Chicago

“The performance of the replacement schools (those located in buildings where either closure or turnaround has occured) is also mixed. Fifteen percent of them were rated “Level 1” by CPS, the highest performance level, according to the most recent data (2011-2012). Thirty-two percent were rated “Level 2,” another 32 percent were rated “Level 3,” the lowest rating CPS gives, and 20 percent did not have enough data.”

Obama’s Race to the Top Drives Nationwide Wave of School Closings, Teacher Firings

Among Obama supporters, the gap between popular perceptions of the president’s policies and the actual content of those policies is nowhere wider than in public education. While the president pays lip service to the centrality of public education, teachers and parent input, his Race To The Top is paving the road to privatization, closing more public schools and firing more teachers than any president in US history.

McPherson LSC Renews Principal’s Contract, With Strings Attached

McPherson Elementary’s Local School Council has renewed Carmen Mendoza’s term as principal for another four years, but added a set of goals to her existing contract: work toward wall-to-wall International Baccalaureate and expand communications both inside and outside the school.

 
“Some schools report only being able to fill as many as a third of the vacancies on any given day, leaving principals and other teachers to scramble to lead classes across the city.”
 
 
“Police say seven students were injured when a 10-year-old student sprayed Mace at a South Side elementary school. Police are interviewing the boy to determine whether or not he sprayed it intentionally.”
4 Responses to “CPS Tired”

  1. DZV January 21, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Yup, I’m pretty tired myself. No time at home to spend with the family, let alone do laundry or the shopping. My husband is ready to divorce me because of all the work I bring home. The hours I spend at home working is crazy. I know, I know all professionals bring work home. But in my opinion, this is MORE than that: crazy tedious paperwork, redundant stuff.
    I’m tired enough to start working on my resume for the suburbs. Don’t forget, CPS is still looking for positions for this year, while the ‘burbs are getting ready to look for next year. I’m “CPS Burnt Out”!

    • cps299 January 22, 2013 at 12:45 am #

      I’m sorry to hear this DZV. You are not aloine.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are You “CPS Tired”? | District 299: The Inside Scoop on CPS - January 18, 2013

    [...] CPS Tired CPS Chatter:  Man, I want to say something witty, but I barely have the energy to post a few links and call it a night.  I am past tired.  I am what I call CPS tired. Teen shot after high school game: 'His mom thought he was safe' Chicago Tribune: CPS chief Barbara Byrd-Bennett ordered extra security personnel for the two high schools today. Crisis teams, including counselors, also have been deployed at Morgan Park. CPS would not release any information about Lawson's education history. Extra security fails to deter violence outside high school basketball game Tribune: Yellow-jacketed security officers were all around the gym at Wednesday night's basketball game between Simeon and Morgan Park high schools. Chicago police officers and Illinois State Police troopers were there as well — in all more than 40 people More on 2013-2014 Calendar for Chicago Public Schools CPS Chatter: A huge statement from Raise Your Hand on the new school calendar,  They make a great case that they’ve done a lot more outreach to other parents than CPS has.  Should CPS be listening to them?  I got this in the email today: window.gallery_images = [ { src: "http://www.chicagonow.com/district-299-chicago-public-schools-blog/files/2011/07/news222.gif", caption: "" }, ]; ◄ Previous Next ► Advertisement: [...]

  2. Are you “CPS tired?” | ChicagoNow - January 18, 2013

    [...] CPS Tired CPS Chatter:  Man, I want to say something witty, but I barely have the energy to post a few links and call it a night.  I am past tired.  I am what I call CPS tired. Teen shot after high school game: 'His mom thought he was safe' Chicago Tribune: CPS chief Barbara Byrd-Bennett ordered extra security personnel for the two high schools today. Crisis teams, including counselors, also have been deployed at Morgan Park. CPS would not release any information about Lawson's education history. Extra security fails to deter violence outside high school basketball game Tribune: Yellow-jacketed security officers were all around the gym at Wednesday night's basketball game between Simeon and Morgan Park high schools. Chicago police officers and Illinois State Police troopers were there as well — in all more than 40 people More on 2013-2014 Calendar for Chicago Public Schools CPS Chatter: A huge statement from Raise Your Hand on the new school calendar,  They make a great case that they’ve done a lot more outreach to other parents than CPS has.  Should CPS be listening to them?  I got this in the email today: [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

