Racy Email Sent to Parents

25 Jan

ImageI heard about this link yesterday and got a kick out of it.   Sometimes, you need to take a moment from all the stress and have a laugh.  I have a nasty flu bug and after calling in, I was in bed until 4PM this afternoon.  I’m up for a few hours before making it an early night so please excuse a slightly smaller posting.

I would dearly love more discussion here.  I believe you can post anonymously if you don’t mind waiting for approval.   I will not censor and I will post dissenting views, but I need to moderate or else, this blog will be full of spam.  I’ve seen it before.

Chicago Public Schools Chief Accidentally Sends Racy Website in Email to Parents

“An anonymous tipster sent us an email parents received from Chicago Public Schools CEO Barbara Byrd-Bennett that contained an embarrassing URL mistake sending parents to a somewhat racy website.”

Emanuel Indicates Commission’s Report Not Last Word on School Closings

“According to published reports, the Commission on School Utilization might recommend closing as few as 15 underutilized school buildings, fearing that a large number of school closings might cause too much upheaval.

WBBM Newsradio Political Editor Craig Dellimore reports the mayor said any actions on school closings must balance educational needs with the district’s economic reality.

“One of the reasons we have to deal with this is because we have schools that are not fully occupied, let alone are less than 40 percent or 50 percent occupied. We cannot give our kids a high-quality education, given how spread thin we are,” Emanuel said Wednesday.”

Akeshia Craven-Howell

Everything wrong with urban public education today in one handy 2 minute video.

2 Responses to “Racy Email Sent to Parents”

  1. Josh Kalov (@shua123) January 25, 2013 at 4:43 am #

    I’m interested in hearing more about why you think that 2 minute video is everything wrong with urban public education today.

    • cps299 January 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

      I tried to send this on my phone yesterday, but it failed to post. The thing that bugs me so much about the video is the whole idea that even though she was fresh out of college without any education background, life experience, or discernible skills she’s telling a number of schools how to teach. I just can’t see that happening in any other field. That’s aside from the fact that I do think of the Broad Academy as a cancer or virus.

Leave a Reply

