Only Thing Lower than Teacher Job Satisfaction is Rahm’s Approval Rating

22 Feb

ImagePoll data is the big story right now.  Rahm Emanuel’s approval ratings are in the toilet, but so is nationwide teacher job satisfaction.  I can’t say that either of these results particularly surprises me. There is also a brand new site tracking the UNO scandals.  I am so ready for the weekend.  I’ll be curious just to find out how bad Snowmageddon is tonight. 

Teacher Survey Shows Record Low Job Satisfaction in 2012

“Teachers’ job satisfaction has declined 23 percentage points in the five years since 2008, according to the long-running survey of educators and principals. Only 39 percent of teachers reported they were very satisfied, the least since 1987, the survey showed. The percentage of teachers who said they were very satisfied dropped five percentage points in 2012.”

Amid Scandal and a Violence Epidemic, Rahm Emanuel’s Rating Drops

“Specifically, just 2 percent of Chicagoans surveyed said they strongly approve of the mayor’s job performance, with 12 percent somewhat approving and 5 percent leaning that way. At the opposite end, 13 percent strongly disapprove, 9 percent somewhat disapprove and 13 percent lean toward disapproval.”

UNO Must Change

“UNO CEO Juan Rangel has been in the news lately trying to defend against recent reports
of patronage and questionable business practices under his leadership. Turns out defending patronage is a long standing hobby of his!”

Report from the ISBE Meeting on Special Education Class Size Limits

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) voted 5
to 1 (Vinni Hall voted no) to put out for public comment
rules that would completely eliminate limits on special
education class size.

The proposed rules would mean there would be NO state limit
on the number of students a special education teacher
is required to serve.

Also there would be NO state limit on the number of students
with disabilities a general education teacher has in their classroom.

School Leaders Recommend Closing Two Charters

“CPS CEO Barbara Byrd-Bennett is recommending that all twelve charter school operators up for renewal, including Aspira and Shabazz, be granted new contracts. If approved by the board next week, most of those contracts will run for five years. Two schools, ACE Tech and Community Services West Academy, are being recommended for three-year contracts.”

6 Responses to “Only Thing Lower than Teacher Job Satisfaction is Rahm’s Approval Rating”

  1. Language Arts Teacher February 22, 2013 at 8:36 am #

    If a teacher isn’t satisfied with what they are doing in the classroom, their profession, or their school, they should find work elsewhere…

    • cps299 February 22, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

      That’s a great sentiment and one I agree with. However, what if it’s not one teacher, but a whole profession that is disheartened and dispirited? What if it’s not teaching that is making people feel this way, but rather technocrats, bureaucrats, and politically connected con artists who are causing this? There is a war going on for our profession and you can’t close your classroom door and pretend it isn’t happening. IF those of us who want to keep teaching as a profession lose to those who favor privatization, 2 year careers, and scripted curriculum, then I will be one of many looking for a new job. I just hope I can find something that let’s me pay my bills while still helping people.

      • Language Arts Teacher February 22, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

        I respect your opinion, but I disagree on some points. I was hired to teach, and while I’m teaching I don’t worry about what politicians are doing. I wasn’t hired to be admin or a politician. I will continue to perfect my craft and keep it moving…

  2. Xian Barrett February 22, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    I have no idea how I’m supposed to follow that advice–I LOVE LOVE LOVE teaching and am exceptionally good at it.

    What I do not enjoy is testing, having to rewrite my curriculum every other year for some new flat-earther theory or play heavy for admins who know nothing about relating to students.

    My profession is being destroyed. If rules and laws imposed are immoral and hurt students, we have a moral imperative to resist and remove them.

    • Erika February 22, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      I totally agree Xian. Which is why I left teaching. Sadly, I’m not doing what I love, teaching, because when I was employed by CPS, I felt so overwhelmed by all the lack of support, I couldn’t serve my kids the way I wanted too. I want to come back, but I don’t think I can handle the emotional strain of it. Teachers shouldn’t have to choose between their own mental health and their profession.

  3. DZV February 23, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    Dear Xian and Erica,
    I can’t agree with you more. I love teaching and I always will, but I don’t know how much more I can take of CPS’s idea of a “world class education”.
    I am burned out, by the paperwork, the pointless evaluations, and re-evaluations, the last minute meetings, the schedule changes, the ineptitude of administration, the worthless PD, the outdated dysfunctional technology, the lack of resources, the lack of staff, bringing my own TP, soap, and cleaning materials to class, working at home for hours on end, not getting anywhere, and the constant testing, testing, testing.
    I don’t see the shine in my students’ eyes anymore. The laughs and giggles are being replaced with hollow stares because all they hear are “your RIT scores, ISAT this, ISAT that”. Imagine being the kid who didn’t get a prize because you didn’t make your MAP score goal? Our students are all become data and numbers, not human beings with individual learning needs. And we have become robots with numbers who get rated based on their data and numbers.
    I LOVE, LOVE teaching, but I am close to being DONE, DONE, DONE. The one thing I have been passionate about my whole life has become a festering business of churn and burn idiotic policies, idealogies, and initiatives made by people who have no clue what goes on in a classroom of unique individuals.

Leave a Reply

