The Evolution of CPS Chatter

10 May

Image

When the blog started, I hoped to give a balanced opinion on education issues from a local level.  I just didn’t think that there were enough sources out there.   For instance, I love Substance, but I wouldn’t call it impartial.  It has a viewpoint and it’s a viewpoint I live very much, but it’s definitely pro-union.  By the same token, some sources like the Sun-Times have some great reporters, but will always fall back on the company line in the editorial section and other areas of the paper.  I won’t even get into the Tribune.

I think the detached observer thing where I printed sources I disagreed with was gone by the end of the first week.   This is my attempt to give you education news that I find important from a mostly local perspective and definitely it’s advocacy journalism.   I’ve been really happy with the stories that we broke, particularly the Michelle Obama Let’s Move Debacle and the banning of Persepolis

The one place I haven’t been happy is in creating and active discussion forum.  I do wonder if my obvious viewpoint leads to readership who shares that viewpoint and that creates a lack of discussion.  In any event, I would like to encourage people to post and also, if there is anything you’d like to see from this space, let me know.  I sometimes wonder if I should have more national stories like the one I’m sharing tonight from New York.

Today’s AFT Kool Aid Flavor is Blueberry

“Local unions can fight the Common Core if our national and state unions will not take up our cause.    The testing issue outrage started locally and is finally getting traction at higher levels.  We can do the same with the Common Core.”

McKinley Park Charter School Proposal Faces Opposition

“Unlike the charter management company’s bid to open a school in Bowmanville, where the plan was met with vocal opposition from community groups and Ald. Pat O’Connor (40th), Concept’s plans have flown under the radar — until they made headlines after the group’s zoning proposal was killed, then put back on, the agenda of a recent zoning committee meeting.”

I Admit It, It’s Not Just a Public School vs. Charter School Problem in CPS

“These two strategies have not ever worked and will not work in the future. And to tie all, one hundred per cent, of our efforts to both of these dead ends–willy-nilly charter promotion and baseless status-quo “education reform,” will only result in continual failurefor decades to come.”

The School Model That’s Good Enough for President Obama and Rahm Emanuel

“In any event, the teachers at Lab are protected from such intrusions thanks to the “Academic Freedom” clause of their contract, which reads: “Academic freedom shall mean that teachers are free to present instructional materials which are pertinent to the subject and level taught.”

5 Responses to “The Evolution of CPS Chatter”

  1. innercitymom May 10, 2013 at 3:39 am #

    Just want to say that I always read your blog just to try to keep up with all the news. I appreciate it.

  2. Fool for CPS May 10, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out!

    • cps299 May 10, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks for your amazing perspective. It’s much appreciated.

  3. xianb May 10, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    I’d just suggest posting the recent comments on the side. It’d be easier to keep up with a discussion 🙂

  4. DZV May 10, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    I love reading your blog. I check it almost daily.
    How about some feedback, ideas about this REACH evaluation. I just got a wonderful letter from the Board stating that I’m not on track to being proficient and I’m being dismissed even though I’m not done with my formal observations or have yet to receive a summative rating. If I do become proficient in the mean time, I’ll be reinstated, IF my position is still available. I have no idea what my actual scores are or anything like that, I just got a whole bunch of print outs with dots in areas. I think I’m done with CPS. Anybody else out there who got one of these? I know there were a bunch at my school!

Leave a Reply

