A Teacher’s Work is Never Done

12 May

ImageThere are a few blog related things I wanted to take care of before posting today, but I’ve failed miserably.  After listening to one reader’s suggestion, I decided that putting a list of recent comments in a sidebar would be helpful and I’ve been wanting to do a blogroll for awhile now.  Both of those will  be coming soon.

I also had a reader ask me for feedback because a bad evaluation and a potential termination notice.  I’ll put my answer here, but I wish I had time to wax poetically.    My first year as a teacher, I was in the suburbs.   Most of my colleagues seemed to think I was doing a very good job.  However, at the end of the year, they RIFed me.  I didn’t have tenure and hence no protection.  After a Summer of looking frantically, I landed at CPS and while this district is far more messed up than the suburban district was, I have had great administrators and I’m happy I left the toxic situation behind.  The reason the suburb let me go was because an administrator wanted to bring her friend over to our building and I had the only spot he could go in.   The year before, another gifted teacher was let go to pave the way for a principal’s friend’s daughter graduating college.   The teacher let go the year before me is now a superintendent in a far better district than the one we left.

I guess my point is, having a job is better than not having a job.  However, having a job that makes you miserable and prevents you for looking for a job that will make you happy really isn’t an improvement.  If you do leave your current school behind, it may well turn out to be just the break you need.

Women Speak Out on CPS Closings and Immigration Reform as Mother’s Day Weekend Begins

“Gonzalez was one of approximately 20 SEIU members to deliver a Mother’s Day card and approximately 4,000 postcards to CPS headquarters Friday. The messages pleaded with the district’s CEO, asking her not to move forward with proposed school closings. According to her biography on CPS’ website, Byrd-Bennett is both a mother and a grandmother.”

Dim View on Emanuel Education Policy, Tribune Poll Finds

“The current survey found that 74 percent of black voters disapproved of Emanuel’s overall handling of schools, and 77 percent disliked his closing plans. For Latinos, the comparable disapproval numbers were 64 percent and 69 percent.”

Chicago Students Always Lead the Way

“Needless to say our students are intelligent and partake in the democratic process that this country was founded on. So if our students feel forced to have a protest to make their voices heard, join them. They are teaching all of us what Democracy looks like, sounds like, and feels like.”

From Philadelphia to Raleigh, Students Resist Racism and Austerity

“On May 2 at Chicago’s Lincoln Park High School, there were many whispers about “the walkout,” how no one was going to show up and how those who did show up would get suspended. When the bell rang at the end of second period, hundreds of students walked outside, and whispers subsided to cheers of teacher-student solidarity.”

A Major School Reformer’s ‘Nixon Goes to China Moment’?

“Paul Vallas, a pioneer of the current era of school reform, said, “We’re losing the communications game because we don’t have a good message to communicate.”

 

One Response to “A Teacher’s Work is Never Done”

  1. cpsemployee May 13, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    I just wanted to say that I enjoy your blog and read it faithfully every day. I’m not one to respond or make comments but I do appreciate your work in bringing us important information related to education.

Leave a Reply

